Daily Prompt: Mentor Me

Daily Prompt: Mentor Me.

Mentor

Who was my mentor?

My first and most memorable mentor was a woman who I met through a professional organization.  Reflecting back, I was probably somewhere in my late twenties and she in her late forties.  She must have seen something in me that provoked her to take me under her wing.  I can’t honestly say I knew at the time this was a “mentoring” relationship.  The first time it really hit home  was when we were on a flight to Harvard in an attempt to evaluate their Travel department.   I was still in the “pinch me is this real” phase, as I listened to her from across the aisle.  At some point in the conversation she looked at me and said, “By the way, I think you would be a good teacher”.  I’m sure I smiled and maybe even asked why.  The following year we found out that she had cancer and she died shortly afterward.  I’ve never had a chance to tell  her how much I appreciated her or what she did for me.  This one-act of kindness aka mentoring, changed my life completely.  As a result, I do consulting now, which in my opinion can be the equivilant of “teaching”, but more importantly, I seek out opportunities to mentor whenever possible.  ~Thank you P J Vanderpool~  and ~Thank you Word Press for giving me the chance to finally put this into words.

About cdvisions

A New Yorker that has been enjoying the south for close to 30 years. Loves being creative and is always looking for fun outlets to share designs, art and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: Mentor Me

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: My Mentors In Life | My Blog

  2. Pingback: Mr. Bales, Me, and The Sixth Grade | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mentor Me …to listen, to be positive … | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  4. Pingback: Mentors: The Freshmaker – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

