Temptation

On a day to day basis I’ve found that I need to find a way to stay grounded or centered if you will. I’ve made it a habit to read a daily reflection from a global order called The Passionist in order to stay focused. I especially like the one posted today as it talks about “temptation”.

I’m the first to admit that I am a geek and techno junkie and my friends and family will attest to this as well. And yes, I know the glazed over look when I see it and know when to stop especially when I talk about AJAX and they think I’m talking about the cleaning product! Anyway, after reading today’s reflection I have to say that I would be remiss if I didn’t take a step back any look at where temptation tends to lead me.

On the surface it looks like I am current and up-to-date with the latest and greatest revolving around my little geek world, but is that what is really going on? Maybe I am staying focused on this instead of working on more important things that I should be doing or tending to? Say for example; friends, family and those that might need my help or assistance. Truly, it comes down to managing priorities in your life and making the time to factor all these things in. It’s hard, I know…I’m the first to admit it. But as I sit here typing this I am thinking how awesome my crackberry, excuse me, blackberry is and that I can’t go anywhere without it.

The temptation for me is that I want/need to capture my thoughts, deeds over the course of the day and try to warrant where my time goes based on what is on this phone. I personally find it fascinating that the little post it note app on my phone acts like a piece of paper that I can actually write notes of what I need to do during the day. Speaking of which, where are all those written notes of days gone by? Knowing me, I probably have them stored in a bankers box in the attic.

The point being is that regardless if it’s technology, sports, shopping, complaining or whatever you are being tempted to do, think about if this is a good thing wrapped up in a bag of temptation steering you in the wrong direction.

About cdvisions

A New Yorker that has been enjoying the south for close to 30 years. Loves being creative and is always looking for fun outlets to share designs, art and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

