Let’s Work Smarter not Harder

Remember this old adage? This has come to light recently and jogged my memory. The good news is it still holds true!

Believe it or not I can remember the first time I heard this. I was sitting in a boardroom, probably for the first time, and a CEO made this statement on a closing note. Little did he know that it would stick with me during the course of my career. I’d like to thank him some day if I ever get the opportunity.

About a week ago I attended a lunch-n-learn and had the pleasure of listening to an author by the name of Orna Drawas. She spoke about her new book, “Perform Like A Rock Star And Have Time for Lunch”. Although she did talk about working smarter, not harder, she also talked about the “pickle jar theory”, which was great as well. (Speaking of pickle jars, I have a collection I’m still trying to figure out a good recycling initiative.) Orna’s book is truly an interesting read and for sure. Check out her website and blog out if interested.

Anyway, let’s get back to the subject at hand.

What does working smarter mean exactly? To sum it up, it means that you can work like a dog, or cat for that matter, and never really achieve the excellence you are capable of if you don’t go about it the right way. This is a harsh reality for those that know they spend all their energy checking off those items on their check list.

These check lists become our lives. A never-ending list that grows and multiples with each day. Can anyone relate? My current checklist lives on my blackberry and has; Not Started, In Progess, Waiting on Someone, Completed. How simple could this be. Maybe simple, but not always the wisest way to handle day to day affairs.

The question you should ask yourself is, “Who sees this check list”? Most times, no one but you. Sad, but true. Sound familiar? I bring this to light merely from the standpoint that often times as a result of this, we don’t get the credit we want to need. It takes away from the higher objectives that we could truly accomplish.

I had to learn this the hard way recently and hopeful that I can take my own advise and remember to take this into consideration to make myself and those I love and care about more successful.

About cdvisions

A New Yorker that has been enjoying the south for close to 30 years. Loves being creative and is always looking for fun outlets to share designs, art and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Thought for the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s Work Smarter not Harder

  1. I was so happy to have heard that talk, as well. It hit home in so many ways. Let’s keep the progress moving. Set goals, take breaks, and have some fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

