No Time to Spare

The funny thing about time is that it’s always there. I think it’s a love hate relationship. Often our friend and yet our enemy at times. We either want it or want to get rid of it. Sound familiar?

Oddly enough, as a child I remember my mother gave me a new watch every year, typically for Christmas. I swear I even remember the first one as it was white and plastic with a blue face. During that time period I’m sure I didn’t think it strange to continue to receive watches as gifts, but I must admit it may have led to me buying watches as an adult.

Speaking of watches! Sunday morning while sitting at church, my eight year old niece asked what time it was. Not knowing for sure if she knew how to tell time at her age, I elected to show her my watch instead to see her reaction. After looking at my watch and I saw her face contort and she looked up at me and said “What am I suppose to do with that?”. My watch has no numbers it. I could tell from her expression that she couldn’t figure out the time, but more importantly why does her aunt have a watch with no numbers on it. Needless to say, you have all the time in the world, but without any numbers, you may have no way to guide you.

Back to the subject at hand! No time to spare or I don’t have enough time. When I hear these words being uttered, I see red flags going up and I cringe because I know better. Lately that has not been the case. That made it all the better this morning when I came across the Focus, Focus, Focus chapter from my book “Perform Like a Rock Star“. It reminded me once again of what I am failing to do, “Focus, Focus, Focus!”.

“Somehow we allow everyone else’s priorities to take precedence over our own.” by Orna W. Drawas

How do these “bad” habits get formed? In mind it’s not so important to figure this mystery out, but to recognize that without putting our highest priorities first and managing them with time, we will not find or make our way. I could see how this could be misconstrued as being selfish, but I beg to differ. If you don’t fulfill your own main objectives, how can you make yourself happy let alone others.

About cdvisions

A New Yorker that has been enjoying the south for close to 30 years. Loves being creative and is always looking for fun outlets to share designs, art and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Thought for the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

