Use Your Powers For The Good Not The Bad

Good & Evil

Good & Evil

Of late I have found myself saying this quote over and over again, “Use your powers for the good, not the bad” and wondered where this may have derived from.  I’ve heard people say they thought it was from a variety of place such as;  Star Wars, Harry Potter and a few others.  Being the curious type, I decided to ask my friend Google and sure enough she came up with this website only for me to find this information below.

” Get Smart used this explicitly a time or two, often as part of The Stinger. “If only he would have used his [whatever] for niceness, instead of rottenness.”

As I read this, I pictured Maxwell Smart, Agent 86 saying it and burst out laughing when I got to the word “rottenness”.  I loved Get Smart and remember watching this and always laughing out loud at his detective snoopy ways and funny wit. 

Anyway – the point being is that this sentiment has been around awhile and has been adopted in different forms of communication and media.  What this tells me is that “maybe” its worth taking a look at it and seeing how or if it applies in our day-to-day lives. 
As a friend told me lately when I asked for advice, try to feed the good dog and not the bad.  I think its worthy to note that we would all get along and live in a more harmonious world if we could take heed this advice.

About cdvisions

A New Yorker that has been enjoying the south for close to 30 years. Loves being creative and is always looking for fun outlets to share designs, art and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Thought for the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

