Daily Prompt: Name

Cynthia Duke

Daily Prompt:  Say Your Name

My first name is Cynthia.  I believe I looked it up once and it means “goddess of the moon”.

Although I don’t recall my mother giving me a very interesting story about how she came to select my  first name, what I thought more interesting was the fact the nurse that took down my mothers selection elected to change it from Cindy to Cynthia. 

So my family went along for years calling me Cindy and still does.  A day finally came that I was changing jobs and thought I’d take a fresh start and refer to myself as Cynthia.  At first it felt odd and awkward, almost like I was a fraud, but after a while it stuck and I rather like the sound of it now.  Some of my siblings still snicker and laugh when in a mixed crowd when they hear me referred to as Cynthia, but I say “whatever”!

For some reason my father use to call me Cin all the time.  I remember the day when I realized it sounded like “sin”, and had a secret laugh.  My best friend somehow decided to call me “cint” growing up?  I’ve been called “cinderella” off and on and always thought that was cute.  While starting college, I met a girl whose mother fondly referred to me as cinder block.   

The biggest kick I remember was being referred to as Cindy Lou Who, similar to the little girl in the Grinch that Stole Christmas.  My middle name is Louise.

About cdvisions

A New Yorker that has been enjoying the south for close to 30 years. Loves being creative and is always looking for fun outlets to share designs, art and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

