Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare

Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare.
Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

honesty

“You can’t handle the truth.”

Under my Favorite Quotes on my Facebook page I have the following two-line items listed:

“You can’t handle the truth!” – Jack Nicholson, A Few Good Men

“You can’t handle the tooth” – Jamie Foxx, In Living Color

The first quote I can totally relate to and have realized that this is usually the case.  The second quote is just so funny I couldn’t resist adding it.

I was raised in up state New York, and quite frankly it never occurred to me to be any other way.  Does that mean all northerners are direct, probably not – but more times than not it appears to be the case.

My father taught me to say what I mean and be direct and honest.   I always respected him for that and realized that over time what he was saying was the truth or exactly how he perceived it.   I never had to wonder with him and it was a comfortable feeling.  Many years later and currently living in the south, things have changed drastically.

I’d say career wise, it’s more of deciding who your audience is and prepping them or giving them the decision on how they’d like my response.  I’ll admit that I think I got hired once because I said, “When you ask me a question, I’m going to ask if you want me to be honest or I can tell you what you want to hear, but that is your decision.”

It can also depend on what your intentions are behind the statement.  All I can say is that it’s best to think before you speak and timing is everything.

About cdvisions

A New Yorker that has been enjoying the south for close to 30 years. Loves being creative and is always looking for fun outlets to share designs, art and all things beautiful.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare

  1. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With A Shade Of Pen – “The Burden Of Truth” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. Pingback: A Shade Of Pen

Leave a Reply

